Statements

Canadians should not pay for Trudeau’s mistakes at the border: Conservatives

Conservative Party of Canada | February 5, 2019

February 5, 2019
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

OTTAWA, ON - Today, the Honourable Michelle Rempel, Shadow Minister for Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship, and Pierre Paul-Hus, Shadow Minister for Public Safety, Border Security, and Emergency Preparedness, issued a statement following new media reports concerning security screening backlogs:

“Based on a media report today, we learned there were 11, 745 people who have not had proper security screening since arriving in Canada, many of whom illegally entered into the country. The same report confirms that an unknown number of individuals deemed to be a ‘threat to Canada’ were also admitted into the country without screening.

“Canadians are justifiably concerned about these revelations. They expect the system to adequately screen those seeking to enter the country and their confidence in that system is shaken every time they learn that it has failed.

“However, Justin Trudeau’s Minister responsible for Border Security repeatedly refused to answer legitimate questions about these concerning media reports when asked in Parliament. The Trudeau government continues to ignore these reasonable concerns, instead resorting to name-calling, personal attacks, and divisive rhetoric whenever they are questioned or criticized on the issue.

“Conservatives have consistently advocated for an immigration system that is planned, orderly, and compassionate. That’s why we moved a motion calling for a joint committee study to review our security screening process.

“Unfortunately, the Trudeau Liberals opposed this entirely reasonable undertaking, denying parliamentarians who want to help fix this problem and restore integrity to our immigration system.

“Conservatives will continue to raise these legitimate concerns, despite Liberal attempts to demonize them. We will continue to hold the government to account and demand adequate security screening at our borders. Canadians should not pay for Justin Trudeau’s mistakes at the border. That’s why an Andrew Scheer government will restore order, fairness, and compassion to Canada’s immigration system. ”

-30-

For more information:

Office of the Hon. Michelle Rempel
Michelle.Rempel.A1@parl.gc.ca
613-992-4275

Office of Pierre Paul-Hus
Pierre.Paul-Hus.A1@parl.gc.ca
613-995-8857

Déclarations

Les Canadiens ne devraient pas payer pour les erreurs de Trudeau à la frontière : conservateurs

Parti conservateur du Canada | 5 février 2019

5 février 2019
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

OTTAWA (Ontario) – Aujourd’hui, l’honorable Michelle Rempel, la ministre du Cabinet fantôme responsable de l’Immigration, des Réfugiés et de la Citoyenneté, et Pierre Paul-Hus, le ministre du Cabinet fantôme responsable de la Sécurité publique, de la Sécurité frontalière et de la Protection civile, ont fait une déclaration à la suite de nouveaux reportages médiatiques sur les arriérés des vérifications de sécurité :

« Un reportage diffusé aujourd’hui nous apprend que 11 745 personnes n’ont pas fait l’objet d’une vérification de sécurité appropriée depuis leur arrivée au Canada, dont nombre sont entrées illégalement au pays. Le même reportage confirme qu’un nombre inconnu d’individus considérés comme une ‘menace pour le Canada’ ont été admis au pays sans vérification de sécurité.

« Les Canadiens sont en droit d’être préoccupés par ces révélations. Ils s’attendent à ce que le système fasse une vérification appropriée de ceux qui veulent entrer au pays, et leur confiance est ébranlée chaque fois qu’ils apprennent que ce n’est pas le cas.

« Cependant, le ministre de Justin Trudeau responsable de la Sécurité frontalière refuse obstinément de répondre aux questions légitimes sur ces reportages inquiétants au Parlement. Le gouvernement Trudeau continue à ignorer ces préoccupations raisonnables, préférant avoir recours aux insultes, aux attaques personnelles et à une rhétorique source de divisions chaque fois qu’il est interrogé ou critiqué sur cet enjeu.

« Les conservateurs ne cessent de défendre un système d’immigration planifié, ordonné et compatissant. C’est pourquoi nous avons présenté une motion demandent une étude de comité conjointe pour examiner notre processus de vérification de sécurité.

« Malheureusement, les libéraux de Trudeau se sont opposés à cette initiative tout à fait raisonnable, brimant les parlementaires qui veulent régler ce problème et rétablir l’intégrité de notre système d’immigration.

« Les conservateurs vont continuer à soulever ces préoccupations légitimes, même si les libéraux tentent de les diaboliser. Nous allons continuer à demander des comptes au gouvernement et à exiger des vérifications de sécurité adéquates à nos frontières. Les Canadiens ne devraient pas payer pour les erreurs de Justin Trudeau à la frontière. C’est pourquoi un gouvernement dirigé par Andrew Scheer rétablira l’ordre, l’équité et la compassion du système d’immigration du Canada. »

-30-

Pour obtenir plus d’information :

Bureau de l’hon. Michelle Rempel
Michelle.Rempel.A1@parl.gc.ca
613-992-4275

Bureau de Pierre Paul-Hus
Pierre.Paul-Hus.A1@parl.gc.ca
613-995-8857