Statements

Justin Trudeau fails to take action to address crisis at our borders: Rempel

Conservative Party of Canada | July 13, 2018

Winnipeg, MB – The Honourable Michelle Rempel, Shadow Minister for Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, issued a statement following the meeting of federal and provincial counterparts on immigration:

“Today’s meeting of federal and provincial counterparts confirms what Conservatives have been saying all along. Justin Trudeau’s failure to plan for the strain his #welcometocanada tweet has placed on Canada’s immigration system and provincial social programs is a failure of leadership from the very top.

“From the beginning, Justin Trudeau has normalized band-aid approaches and placed responsibility for his mismanagement onto provinces and municipalities. As a result, they are beyond overwhelmed and will continue to ask the federal government for more money.

“Justin Trudeau should know that his words have real life consequences. Taxpayers should not continue to have to pay for the Prime Minister’s failure to take action to address this problem, when he cannot even produce a credible plan to manage the crisis at our borders.

“That is why Andrew Scheer’s Conservatives have requested an emergency committee meeting to discuss the adequacy of the Trudeau government’s response to the border crisis. We will continue to hold the Prime Minister to account and call for policy solutions that will enable our immigration system to run on a safe, orderly, and compassionate basis that prioritizes the world’s most vulnerable.”

-30-

For more information:

Office of Michelle Rempel - Michelle.Rempel.A4@parl.gc.ca - Phone: 587-899-3816

Déclarations

Échec de Justin Trudeau à agir face à la crise à nos frontières : Rempel

Parti conservateur du Canada | 13 juillet 2018

Winnipeg (Manitoba) – L’honorable Michelle Rempel, la ministre du Cabinet fantôme responsable de l’Immigration, des Réfugiés et de la Citoyenneté, a fait une déclaration à la suite de la rencontre de ses homologues fédéral et provinciaux sur l’immigration :

« La rencontre d’aujourd’hui confirme ce que les conservateurs ne cessent de dire. L’échec de Justin Trudeau à planifier la pression que son tweet #BienvenueAuCanada exerce sur le système d’immigration du Canada et les programmes sociaux provinciaux est un manque de leadership au plus haut niveau.

« Depuis le début, Justin Trudeau normalise les approches provisoires et rejette la responsabilité de sa mauvaise gestion sur les provinces et les municipalités. En conséquence, celles-ci sont plus que surchargées et vont continuer à demander plus d’argent au gouvernement fédéral.

« Justin Trudeau devrait savoir que ses propos ont de véritables conséquences. Les contribuables ne devraient pas devoir payer pour l’échec du premier ministre à agir pour régler ce problème, alors qu’il ne peut même pas présenter un plan crédible pour gérer la crise à nos frontières.

« C’est pourquoi les conservateurs d’Andrew Scheer ont demandé une rencontre de comité d’urgence afin de discuter de l’à-propos de la réponse du gouvernement Trudeau à cette crise. Nous allons continuer à demander des comptes au premier ministre et à réclamer des solutions politiques qui permettront à notre système d’immigration de fonctionner de manière sûre, ordonnée et compatissante, traitant en priorité les personnes les plus vulnérables du monde. »

-30-

Pour obtenir plus d’information :

Bureau de Michelle Rempel - Michelle.Rempel.A4@parl.gc.ca - Téléphone : 587-899-3816