Statements

TRUDEAU STILL SILENCING JODY WILSON-RAYBOULD: SCHEER

Conservative Party of Canada | February 26, 2019

February 26, 2019
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Ottawa, ON – The Honourable Andrew Scheer, Leader of Canada’s Conservatives and of the Official Opposition, released the following statement regarding Prime Minister Trudeau’s refusal to let Ms. Wilson-Raybould speak freely with members of the Justice Committee:

“Today, Jody Wilson-Raybould confirmed that Justin Trudeau is still preventing her from being able to fully explain her version of events in the SNC-Lavalin Affair.

“The order-in-council the Liberals issued last night forbids Ms. Wilson-Raybould from discussing her resignation from cabinet, the presentation she gave to cabinet after her resignation, or discussions she had after being removed as Attorney General during the cabinet shuffle in January. As her letter to the chair of the Justice Committee made clear, she has more to say and the Prime Minister isn’t letting her say it.

“Justin Trudeau is trying to trick Canadians into believing he is letting Ms. Wilson-Raybould speak freely. In reality, however, he is still hiding information he doesn’t want Canadians to know.

“We know that there was an unwanted, coordinated and sustained effort by the Prime Minister himself to get the former Attorney General to change her mind, to overrule the independent Crown prosecutor and stop SNC-Lavalin’s criminal case from going to trial. He can no longer avoid this. He must stop hiding behind privilege and let Ms. Wilson-Raybould speak freely. Canadians deserve answers.”

-30-

For more information:

Daniel Schow
Daniel.Schow@parl.gc.ca
(613) 286-1050

Virginie Bonneau
Virginie.Bonneau@parl.gc.ca
(613) 294-8150

Déclarations

ANDREW SCHEER: TRUDEAU CONTINUE DE MUSELER JODY WILSON-RAYBOULD

Parti conservateur du Canada | 26 février 2019

26 février 2019
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Ottawa (Ontario) - L’hon. Andrew Scheer, le chef du Parti conservateur du Canada et de l’Opposition officielle, a fait la déclaration suivante à propos du refus du premier ministre Trudeau de laisser Mme Wilson-Raybould parler librement avec les membres du Comité de la justice:

« Aujourd'hui, Jody Wilson-Raybould a confirmé que Justin Trudeau l'empêche toujours de pouvoir expliquer en détail sa version des événements survenus dans l'affaire SNC-Lavalin.

« Le décret publié par les libéraux hier soir interdit à Mme Wilson-Raybould de discuter de sa démission du Cabinet, de la présentation qu'elle a donnée au Cabinet suite à sa démission ou des discussions qu'elle a eues après sa destitution en tant que procureure générale en janvier. Comme sa lettre au président du Comité de la justice l’a clairement expliqué, elle a d’avantage à dire et le premier ministre l’en empêche.

« Justin Trudeau essaie de tromper les Canadiens en leur faisant croire qu'il laisse Mme Wilson-Raybould parler librement. En réalité, il cache toujours des informations qu’il ne veut pas dévoiler aux Canadiens.

« Nous savons que le premier ministre lui-même a déployé des efforts non sollicités, coordonnés et soutenus pour que l’ancienne procureure générale change d’avis, pour renverser la décision de la procureure de la Couronne indépendante et stopper le procès criminel auquel fait face SNC-Lavalin. Il ne peut plus éviter cela. Il doit cesser de se cacher derrière le privilège et laisser Mme Wilson-Raybould parler librement. Les Canadiens méritent des réponses. »

-30-

Pour obtenir plus d’information :

Virginie Bonneau
Virginie.Bonneau@parl.gc.ca
(613) 294-8150

Daniel Schow
Daniel.Schow@parl.gc.ca
(613) 286-1050